Welcome to Happiness. I mean “spring time”.

Holy long winter!! I want to apologize to all of my followers for the lack of posting.  Most of you all know that I broke my finger in January, my left pointer finger, which if that wasn’t bad enough, my nail also was removed due to the ligament damage.  So, for the first month I was in such pain that my beauty routine switched from “classic glam” to “stay home saturday”.  image2That is nothing to blog about.  However with this little hiccup in my daily routine I discovered the beauty of simplicity and the joy of air drying my hair.

This is where I would post pictures of my poor finger but I want to save you, the viewers, from cringing.

As for an update on my blog, I will give you an exact quote from Josh Davis, my site manager.  “I have it running on a server and everything.  It is just painful to theme it like I want to.  I’m making progress though.”

So if that makes sense to any of you…YAY!  So that’s where we are with Lipstick and Lavender.  I am building up ideas as to “how to not get in a rut while blogging”.  I’ve been thinking of doing “weekly favorites” or “products I forgot I loved” or my personal favorite “why this $45 make up item is rubbish”.

But as for any advice in this blog posting, I think I will keep it short and sweet.

Spring time is a chance for new beginnings and a fresh look.  Don’t go buying all the new “fashion week trends” because that’s what they are, “trends”.  Stick to what you know and what you like but switch it up.  So you love doing a thick black cat eye everyday.  Great! Me too!  But try a deep purple gel liner, or a blue.  Take your look and replace it with small pops oimage4f color.  I love neutral colors but lately I’ve been dipping into some print pieces.  My favorite piece is this transitional piece (see picture) that works for all seasons except for maybe summer since it is a heavier fabric.  I got it at Village Boutique in the East Village.  I love walking into the higher end boutiques and rummaging through the clearance racks because, for example, I found this dress that was originally $230 for $50.  True story.  It’s what I call a “Claire Underwood” dress.  It sits right on my hips and just below my knee.  Pair it with black tights for fall or winter, and for spring, pull your hair up and accessorize with spring color accessorizes such as a fun pump or jewelry.

See this beautiful color down below?  This is Marsala.  The Pantone color of the year.  This color gives you the ability to use it all year round.  I am currently on the hunt for a bomb ass pair of pumps in this color to go with this dress.  I am planning on keeping my jewelry simple as always with some stud earrings and a bold lip. Check out my below picture of my newest lip purchase.  Melted by Too Faced in “Melted Fig”.

marsala

IMG_1389

Here are some other of my purchases since moving to the great city of West Des Moines.

IMG_1386

This dress was from Ragstock and it works for all seasons, again pairing it with a black jacket and tights for fall or winter, or Keds for a casual spring and summer look.

image1

This is a bold dress for me. It’s a body con and I do not do body con. However West Des Moines has been good to me, too good, and I’ve developed a little “fuller” of a figure and this dress actually accentuates my new “attributes”. This was $7.90 from Forever 21 and is also a piece you can wear anytime. I have a loose knit top that I wear over it and flats so it gives the illusion of a skirt. Also, throwing a cardigan over it with a scarf and some knee high tights and booties works for a cold spring day or fall.

image2

This is the only piece that will probably be for fall and winter and early spring. It is also from F21 and it’s a little short on me so I haven’t decided what I want to do with it yet. Skinny jeans and black sandals would work for a chilly summer night I suppose. But otherwise spice this baby up with black tights and black booties and a high bun and a bold lip. Get it yo.

I have also updated my make up routine.  In the winter my skin is usually pretty dry so I use liquid foundation.  However I stumbled into Bare Minerals the other day and bought their starter kit again complete with blush, concealer, three brushes, primer, and then of course your foundation.  I will be doing a review on it soon.  However, the one day that my make up was on point, I didn’t take any pictures.  I know, the struggle was real.  I do have this picture of a more natural look with the products to hold you over until I get all dolled up for some of my weddings coming up.

IMG_1276

#bareminerals in Fairly Light #bareminerals concealer in light #bareminerals mineral veil #bareminerals blush in “Glee” @anastasiabeverlyhills contour kit #twofaced bronzer #maybeline The nudes palette on eyes @nyxcosmetics #superskinnymarker for eyeliner #loreal voluminous butterfly mascara And of course @anastasiabeverlyhills #dipbrowpomade in Taupe on the eyebrows.

IMG_1393Today is Tuesday March 10, and it is 68 degrees in Des Moines.  If you all have been having the winter blues like me, you are all probably close to tears of joy with this weather.  Maybe not.  I am sitting on our patio enjoying our new patio furniture that we picked up from Lowes this past weekend.  Yes, I am tanning my pale legs and eating a surprising healthy meal for once.  Zelda enjoys the warm weather too!!image1 copy
IMG_1396I’ve been sitting with only one side to the sun so it’s time I go back and proof read this blog and start sunning my other side.  It’s good to be back in the swing of things!

*B

Leave a Reply

